Hloahloeng and Child Health Day

I know that there are fewer and fewer posts on here, which is mostly due to the fact that I am leaving Lesotho in about six weeks already (sob!) and that I want to make as much of my stay here as possible and not spend too much time on this blog ;-). A little update for those of you who don’t know it: I am going to leave Lesotho in April to go to Germany to visit my family and friends for four weeks and then, in May, come back to Southern Africa to work in Gaborone, Botswana for another six months (I wanted to stay longer in Southern Africa and it looks like I successfully made it happen). Maybe I will change the name of this blog and use it for Bostwana as well…we’ll see!

The main topic of this particular post is an event that CCJP organised last week. From Monday to Thursday, my colleages and I went to Hloahloeng, a small village not far from Qacha’s Nek (in the Southeast of Lesotho), for “Child Health Day”. On Tuesday and Wednesday, a local police officer gave lectures on topics such as gender-based violence or child abuse. There were also teachers present for the children and we brought nurses to the village to examine the children, provide them with necessary immunisations and HIV testing. While the mothers were busy filling out forms or were waiting for the food to be ready, we played with the children or read books to them.

For me, it was the first time I went to the mountaneous area of Lesotho and I really loved it. Lesotho is such a beautiful country, it often leaves you speechless. It was also quite an experience to be so far away from any real city, to have trouble communicating with people (outside Maseru, only few people speak English) and to live without running water, electricity and a proper toilet for a few days. It’s all very easy when you’re rewarded with the most beautiful sun sets and night sky you can possibly imagine though. Additionally, it’s amazing how easily you can adapt to pretty much everything and how quickly I feel at home in places: I wouldn’t have minded staying up there in Hloahloeng a lot longer than just those four days. This was also due to the fact that I had the great company of an American Peace Corps volunteer, Clareese, who works and lives up there for 2.5 years (impressive that one!). Before I went back to Maseru on Thursday, I was a little nervous about using public transportation on my own and all the way from Qacha’s Nek to Maseru (= about 9 hours of driving in four different, very crowded taxis) considering that I couldn’t really talk to or understand people. Moreover, I didn’t really know where to take which taxis beforehand. As usual, though, I learned that things have a way of working out and that it’s a waste of time to worry too much in advance about them.

I hope you’ll enjoy some of the photos I took of the event and the beautiful „Mountain Kingdom“ that has become my home in the last 4.5 months:

Leave a Reply

